PUT THAT IN YOUR PIPE AND SMOKE IT | SMOKIN’ STYLE THROUGH THE AGES

*

General Douglas MacArthur, smoking his familiar corncob pipe during a recent visit to Cebu.  Photo by Dave Davis, Acme photographer for the war picture pool  --25 Jun 1945, Cebu.

General Douglas MacArthur, smoking his familiar corncob pipe during a recent visit to Cebu. Photo by Dave Davis, Acme photographer for the war picture pool --25 Jun 1945, Cebu.

*

Think of Douglas MacArthur and the picture that likely comes to mind is of the stoic, erect, and always in control General with his trademark pipe hanging from that tip-lipped, chiseled face.  The two are seemingly inseparable in our memories.  MacArthur’s been photographed over the years smoking several different styles of corncob pipes, but the one he’s most often associated with (an extra-long stem and tall bowl) is known as the “Mac”, and is still produced to Macarthur’s original, exact specifications by America’s first and largest corncob pipe producer– Missouri Meerschaum Company of Washington, Missouri.

Pipe smoking isn’t quite what it used to be in terms of popularity (I’d be interested to know how tobacco pipe sales have faired over the last few decades…), but in proper hands it can add a certain something special and distinguished to a man’s mystique.  Kids– don’t try this at home.

*

Albert EinsteinIG001311

Famous pipe-smoker, Albert Einstein.

*

Legendary crooner, Bing Crosby smoking it up, and totally at ease.

Legendary crooner, Bing Crosby smoking it up, and totally at ease.

*

Cary Grant in 1950's film "Crisis"-- smoking and driving is legal, but imagine how many accidents have been caused over the years by folks fumbling for cigarettes, lighters, etc.

Cary Grant in 1950's film "Crisis"-- smoking and driving is certainly legal, but imagine how many accidents have been caused over the years by folks fumbling for cigarettes, lighters, etc.

*

 Hugh Hefner at the 25th anniversary of his Playboy magazine, ca. 1978.

Hugh Hefner at the 25th anniversary of his Playboy magazine, ca. 1978.

*

William Faulkner enjoying a smoke in his study.

William Faulkner enjoying a smoke in his study.

*

Another great shot of William Faulkner & pipe.

Another great shot of William Faulkner & pipe.

8

The always suave, Errol Flynn smoking in style.

The always suave Errol Flynn smoking in style.

*

Hollywood film icon Orson Welles

Hollywood film icon Orson Welles

*

Mark Twian, clutching his pipe, looking out the window, --ca. 1907.

Mark Twian, clutching his pipe, looking out the window, --ca. 1907.

*

Said Mark Twain, “I always hire a cheap man–a man who doesn’t amount to much, anyhow–who would be as well–or better–dead, and let him break in the pipe for me. I get him to smoke the pipe for a couple of weeks, then put in a new stem, and continue operations as long as the pipe holds together.”

*

13 thoughts on “PUT THAT IN YOUR PIPE AND SMOKE IT | SMOKIN’ STYLE THROUGH THE AGES

  1. I’m just a young lad (relatively @ 28) and have smoked a pipe for some years now. I enjoy it quite thoroughly and it seems the small pipe makers (eg. JM Boswell) are doing well as are the larger ones (eg. Dunhill). I do notice in the pipe clubs that I frequent and the pictures I see that pipe smoking lends itself to having a mustache. Maybe because it conveniently hides that top lip that curls down to stabilize the stem. That lip always makes one look like an ape.

  2. I’m also a young mustache’d pipesmoker.

    That Faulkner picture is one of my all time favorite pictures. I discovered that picture and the series of pictures from Life a while ago and it still is a favorite.

  3. This post reminds me of my dad’s pipes. He had this great pipe caddy…a round dark wooden holder with a few holes for pipes to stand while at rest. In the middle was a dark brown fluted glass canister/jar that held his loose tobacco of choice….the smell of cherry, oak, leather and nicotine filled his office where it sat on his desk.

    I remember giving it a try when I was around 10-11yrs old…the nicotine burned my throat and lungs with the first drag…needless to say I definitely inhaled. I realized this was a man’s toy and not something for a kid and always gave it much respect when I’d snoop around his office looking for Playboys or his putter.

    I recall seeing these pipes being packed and unpacked during several of the moves I experienced as a kid. They were eventually sold at a garage sale long after he’d quit smoking. I’ve wondered who these appealed to and if this someone were like Mark Twain who enjoyed a seasoned pipe. My dad isn’t a cheap man, but one that understands living life unadulterated.

  4. I worked in a tobacco store in college and smoked One Q by the pound. Known as Captain Black Royal, it was heavy in vanilla but good for a beginner. I eventually went to Macbarens Virgina No 1 after trying stuff just ’cause the can looked good. Things like Dunhill Nightcap and Royal Yacht. Great looking cans. Not so great tobacco. I’ll tell you this…smoking a pipe in a convertible is a very good way to get a hot ash in your eye.

    • Tintin,

      Thanks for the tips for us novices.

      Thing about tobacco- it ALWAYS smells better than it tastes. Same is true for McDonald’s, for that matter.

      JP

  5. My favorite shot has to be the Flynn one, I’m a sucker for DB trenchcoats and felt fedoras… but the first Falkner one is the money as well.

  6. Here at the shop, we’ve been chomping on cheap Walgreens corn cob pipes and something interesting has happened: I find I do my best thinking with that cheap-ass corncob unit betwixt the teeth. On top of that, just finding reasons to use the word “betwixt” is really neat.

  7. I may be more or less fresh out of college, but I’ve been smoking a pipe since I was 18. Wonderful habit and such an enjoyable ritual. I highly recommend that the curious pick up a corn cob pipe, a tamper, a nice house blend or sampler pack, and a box of matches and have at it. Once one gets the hang of things, there’s a world of opportunities awaiting – briar, meerschaum, bent, straight, Rhodesian, apple, diplomat, English, Virginian…

Comments are closed.