49 YEAR RIDE – GENERATIONS ON THE ROAD | A FILM BY MARC BENCIVENGA

“Steve Leandro has been building and riding bikes since the late ’60s and has inspired many over the decades dedicated to his passion.  I was able to uncover some Super 8 footage from 1974 of the ‘Run To the Redwoods”, which he was a part of, and some 1972 Super 8 footage of the influences in Steve’s life to create a piece that I believe acknowledges Steve’s humble beginings and honors his current impact on those who love an old Harley.”  –Marc Bencivenga, filmmaker

1969, Santa Rosa– Tony Aeillo and Austin Hall (a still from– 49 Year Ride – Generations on the Road)

Another great short film by Marc Bencivenga called 49 Year Ride – Generations on the Road.  Steve Leandro of S&J Motorcycles opens up about coming up in the motorcycle scene when he was young, his shop and love of bikes, and passing the torch on to his grandson Zak who he’s able to share his love of bikes and builbing with. Marc also shot another great short– A Prayer For Cool which we featured on TSY a while back. Enjoy.

Steve Leandro’s grandson Zak who clearly already has been bitten by the bike bug.

Great shot of Steve Leandro (S&J Motorcycles) and crew back in the 1970s

7 thoughts on “49 YEAR RIDE – GENERATIONS ON THE ROAD | A FILM BY MARC BENCIVENGA

  1. One of the best editorial short films that I have seen as of late. Nothing like sitting down with an Old School Biker and sharing some tales. Felt like I walked away with 60 W on my clothes, and a smile on my face. Thanks for sharing.

  2. I’ve always owned and ridden dirt bikes and flat trackers but guys like Steve Leandro are the heart of motorcycling, I glad to know he’s out there somewhere.

  3. yup, that’s what it was like, all right.
    Still is to some extent, tho have lost most of my ridin’ brothers…

    Naw it ain’t the same either; too damn many ‘wannabees’,
    doctors, lawyers, & accountants makin’ believe on “Blke Night”,
    And no more “ride to ” ________ ” overnighters

    -and a lot less camaraderie…

    -Dirt Track Doug
    -celebratin’ m’ 50th year of ”two wheeled motorized transportation”, 1962-2012

  4. I was hooked from the moment he mentioned smells and old v twins… The smell of an old Panhead reminds me of my grandfather when he was alive and I was just a child… Closest thing to time travel to me. Great film! Thanks for posting TSY.

  5. Great video ! Had my ____ hooked from the first notes of ” Time ” Loved the Bar Fight comments as I used to provide the soundtrack behind the chicken wire /chain link ( played biker bars in the 70’s ) for more than a few in my early days 😉 Nothing like a Tele and a heavy mike stand when the ____ hit the fan .

Comments are closed.