HAMMARHEAD x MOTO GUZZI V7 WAYWARD LAUNCH PARTY PICS

While walking down the stairs to the Ace Hotel’s Liberty Hall last night I knew for sure that James Hammarhead and crew would have a little surprise– the V7 Wayward would not be another Jack Pine / Ninety-Two reiteration. This Moto Guzzi was destined to be the anti-matte black Hammarhead bike. But I didn’t know what that would look like. For sure there would be the editing of all parts superfluous to reveal the raw beauty of the beast beneath with a very strong Germanic-like design sensibility that said this bike was meant to be ridden and respected– not fawned over like some prissy beauty queen.

Stepping into Liberty Hall immediately I was blinded by the optic white Moto Guzzi V7 Stone that glowed like all hell and seemed to possess the room and everything in it. It was so bright that you dare not look at it for fear of being blinded. It was a nice bike for sre, but just a warm-up for what was to come. I grabbed a drink and skedaddled into the darkness. I knew the Hammarhead V7 Wayward lay just beyond in the main room, but I intentionally wanted to take my time getting there as I knew that once I saw it, I’d likely remain there in that spot captivated for the evening. In an adjacent room stood the Moto Guzzi V7 Racer, quietly cocked to the side looking very at ease, and a bit dwarfed by the surrounding crowd that paid plenty of attention to it.

And then I finally allowed myself to make eye contact with the HHI V7 Wayward.

Indeed it was not black. I stared. I smiled. I was hooked.

IMG_4272

Moto Guzzi V7 Stone at the Hammarhead x Moto Guzzi Wayward Bound launch party, Ace Hotel NYC –Photo by Ashley (You’re killing me, Smalls!) Smalley

IMG_4292

Moto Guzzi V7 Racer at the Hammarhead x Moto Guzzi Wayward Bound launch party, Ace Hotel NYC –Photo by Ashley (You’re killing me, Smalls!) Smalley

IMG_4295

Sam from Hammarhead talking through the re-shaping of the frame, re-mapping of the bits, etc. on the HHI V7 Wayward bike. In the background, Sean from Philadelphia Scooters Inc. & Kenric from Quaker City Motor Works. –Photo by Ashley (You’re killing me, Smalls!) Smalley

IMG_4278

HHI x Moto Guzzi V7 Wayward at the Hammarhead Wayward Bound launch party, Ace Hotel NYC

“To create the V7 Wayward, we first disassembled the bike to reveal its elemental form.  The goal was to create a minimal experience that was at home on the long road.  The engine was not internally modified but benefits from free flow K&N air filters, custom exhaust and remapped EFI.  The chassis was cleared of all plastic, de-tabbed and visually lightened with careful relocation of ancillary components.  The large stock fenders were replaced with simple alloy units, sized to retain real world function. The rear sub-frame was modified to accept a narrow and lean seat.   Works Performance fork springs and rear shocks were fitted and the bike rolls on Avon Venom tires.” –James Hammarhead

IMG_4279

HHI x Moto Guzzi V7 Wayward at the Hammarhead Wayward Bound launch party, Ace Hotel NYC

“Up front the stock headlight and instrument cluster were replaced with a 7-inch teardrop shell that also houses a small speedometer. To achieve a relaxed yet aggressive riding position, wide mid-rise bars were fitted. Low profile but highly visible LED turn signals were used as well as HHI’s signature 2 inch round brake light.  Finally, inspired by the bags of the 1950s, we created a pair of wax cotton panniers.  The compact panniers feature an internal aluminum frame and are capable of swallowing a laptop and rain suit during the weekday hustle or the bare essentials required for a 3 day, 3 week or 3 month on the road.” –James Hammarhead

IMG_4280

HHI x Moto Guzzi V7 Wayward at the Hammarhead Wayward Bound launch party, Ace Hotel NYC

IMG_4281

HHI x Moto Guzzi V7 Wayward at the Hammarhead Wayward Bound launch party, Ace Hotel NYC

9 thoughts on “HAMMARHEAD x MOTO GUZZI V7 WAYWARD LAUNCH PARTY PICS

  1. Not a huge fan of the mirrors on the Stone. Might have been able to do something else with those, but I’m sure it was a conscious decision.

    • Hammarhead did not touch the Moto Guzzi Stone in the first pick(if that’s the one you’e referring too…), that was a new stock bike.

  2. I went to the launch party and was mesmerized by the customization of the bike. Classical style with a refined character all its own. I could not stop looking at it and so just wanted to drive it home. I must also say that I was also very impressed with the V7 Racer. Never thought about owning a Moto Guzzi but now I do.

  3. Hope your buddy is successful, but he should have a boo here to see what customizing is about. Nobody famous there, as far as I know, but they’re honest to God bikers and doing some amazing stuff. It’s a throwaway Jap bike, so I guess it doesn’t count to a lot of people. To hell with them.

    http://www.xs650.com/forum/all_albums.php

Comments are closed.