POISON IVY OF THE CRAMPS | PSYCHOBILLY GUITAR GODDESS

Now, you don’t seriously expect that I can post on Elvis and not followup with The Cramps, right? There’s something about a gal playing a sexy Gretsch guitar that makes a many a little weak in the knees. ‘Least that’s what I’ve been told…

Poison Ivy “Rorschach” and Lux Interior, R.I.P. (her husband and co-founding member of The Cramps) gave us a genre of music gleefully known and loved known as– Psychobilly.  Starting out as the ultimate garage band back in ’76, with their raw performance intensity and simple, throbbing tunes– they influenced an entire generation of rock/punk/goth bands who followed behind in their giant footsteps, and are still thrilling kids who “discover” their musical legacy to this day.  Lux is the man, and Poison Ivy is no doubt the woman. Just get a load of these epic pics, and try not to bite through your lip…

1992– Poison Ivy of the Cramps, Tamaris Rock Festival  via

1995– Pois0n Ivy of The Cramps at the University of Utah Olpin Union Ballroom. via

Poison Ivy on the cover of The Cramps’ – Blues Fix

The Cramps performing in concert

Poison Ivy of the Cramps, slingin’ her badass Gretsch.  via

1980– Poison Ivy of The Cramps, Cains Ballroom  via

Lux Interior, Poison Ivy, and The Cramps on tour in the early days.  via

Poison Ivy of The Cramps via

 

Poison Ivy on the cover of The Cramps’ – Bikini Girls with Machine Guns

circa 1990– Guitarist Poison Ivy of The Cramps in concert. –Image by © Neal Preston/Corbis

The Cramps via


The Cramps’ Poison Ivy

Lux Interior and Poison Ivy of The Cramps  via

Poison Ivy of The Cramps via

The Cramps

Poison Ivy Rorschach of The Cramps via

Ivy & Lux in their private record lair via

Lux Interior and Poison Ivy of legendary Psychobilly band, The Cramps, performing live back in the day…

Lux Interior & Poison Ivy of The Cramps  via

Poison Ivy of The Cramps  via

Poison Ivy on the cover of The Cramps ~ “Bikini Girls With Machine Guns”


Poison Ivy of The Cramps  via

Poison Ivy of The Cramps and that sexy Gretsch guitar… thank you Gypsyeyes

RELATED TSY POSTS:

THE FILTH & THE FASHION | VIVIENNE WESTWOOD’S ’70s SEX RAG REVOLUTION

 

 

 

 

 

VICIOUS WHITE KIDS | THE SEX PISTOLS TAKE ON ROCK ‘N ROLL & THE SOUTH

 

 

 

 

 

LEGENDARY CLASH STYLE | FROM PUNK ROCK ROUGH TO SARTORIAL SMOOTH

 

26 thoughts on “POISON IVY OF THE CRAMPS | PSYCHOBILLY GUITAR GODDESS

  1. YES, I get to be the first one to comment on a post and it couldn’t have been about a better subject!

    Going back to rock n’ roll attitude, Lux might just have had the most of any man that ever lived. He didn’t need to sleep around, do drugs, punch cameramen, or start feuds with other musicians. He just gave you all his blood, sweat, tears, and at times, other bodily fluids every time he was onstage into his early SIXTIES! The difference between his first ever performance and his last is marginal…can’t say the same for the likes of Mick, Robert, Steven, or most other cats that are still “touring.” Saying Lux and Poison were good people as well is an understatement. Johnny put on a show for prison inmates, but who else would be so sincere that they would put on a show for the inmates of an insane asylum before they were much more than a blip on the music scene.

    You are missed Lux, and God bless his widow, the Queen of the Jungle, Poison Ivy.
    STAY SICK!

    Oh, and thanks again JP…your badassery knows no bounds.

  2. Well, I thought I was first but I guess I got beat to the punch. Now I’m just glad to see some Cramps fans coming together.

  3. Thank You ever so much…. I really wanted that picture.
    A few of the others as well….

    Thanks
    Ann

  4. Poison Ivy is a badass, no doubt about it. Looking at these photos makes me want to get a perm just to hold my tiara in place. Thanks for sharing!

  5. Poison Ivy! Great post. Anyone that could draw your attention away from Lux during a Cramps show had to be pretty spectacular. I always thought Nick Knox was one of the coolest drummers around, too.

    I had not seen many of these photos before, thanks for this amazing post.

  6. This is the feelgood post of the year.
    Since we lost Lux; I don’t think I’ve been able to get my head back around to what the Cramps meant, live. Until just now. This brings it all back.
    Thanks.

  7. The Cramps changed my life forever. They were the first really different and bad ass band that I discovered for myself way back in 1980 ish, all my friends hated them and thought I was crazy. This just made them all the more special as far as I was concerned. One of the saddest days in rock when Lux passed but I like to think he’s raising hell in the afterlife somewhere. Poison Ivy is one of the Top 10 Gueetarr Players of all time IMHO and has more raunch and sex appeal than 99% of today’s so called stars. Long live Twang.

  8. another rad post! Have you seen the Cramps’ 1978 concert at the Napa State Mental Hospital? Some of the mental patients storm the stage & start singing.

  9. The Cramps was the soundtrack for any Greyhound trip I ever rode… (mostly to pick up old motorcycles or drive home a decrepit VW Thing).

    I had the great pleasure of seeing them live in Athens GA back in the 80’s and later in Asheville shortly before Lux croaked. Damn fine shows all.

    RIP Lux & The Cramps.

  10. I check your site very regularly – as it is simply the best one in the world! But I never added any replies – until today. Thanks for the great pictures. I had the pleasure to see the Cramps live around 1988 in Germany and it was brilliant. I will never forget that concert. ..and especially Ivy

  11. Lux, as far as I’m concerned, is THE Greatest Frontman in Rock and Roll history. Moreso than even Iggy or Screamin’ Jay. Miss him so much.

    And Ivy is my favorite guitarist. Like others here, The Cramps changed my life. Elevated me out of the mundane.

    I have to ask–does ANYONE know how Ivy is doing? I know she doesn’t know me from Adam (though I had the good fortune to meet and speak with Lux and Ivy on a couple of occasions) but I’ve been such a fan for so many years that she feels like family to me.

    I’ve been really concerned about her the past couple of years and hope so much that she is doing well. I just want to wish her the best and wish her happiness.

  12. GAWD… I came back to this post and wound up on Youtube watching cramps videos. Naked Girls Falling Down the Stairs is going into my set list! Thanks JP.

Comments are closed.